1st AGM 2018: Interim ITAU National Executive Committee 2018/2019 Constituted

Welcome back from the National ICT Teachers Capacity Development Workshop 2018! Over 120 teachers from all parts of the country graced the event. The teachers spent two days (5th and 6th September) at Kololo SS discussing and sharing new trends and resources in Desktop Publishing, Website Designing, Elementary Programming, Databases, Evaluation and Assessment, School ICT Club Initiatives, Innovative Teaching and Project Based Learning. The teachers were also urged to embrace collaboration  through platforms like Sharebility Uganda.

Mr. Mukalele Rogers (Standing) leading a session on Website design with Microsft Expression Web.

During this workshop, the teachers also had the first Annual General Meeting (AGM) thier association.

Registration of the Association

The members unanimously resolved that the name of the association be changed from “Uganda ICT Teachers Association” to ICT Teachers Association of Uganda (ITAU), since the former was rejected by Uganda Registration Services Bureau (URSB) – because only government owned agencies can be allowed to register entities with names starting with ‘Uganda’ or ‘National’.

Members also expressed the need to have a national executive which can urgently work on registering the association and also open a bank account such that the association can formerly start its activities and projects which can attract funding from partners.

Nominations followed and elections were held. The nominated members were allowed to briefly talk to the members before voting was done by show of hands. The table below shows the votes cast per post.

(i) Chairperson Votes
Lukyamuzi Ronald 30
Kakaire Charles 43
(ii) Vice Chairperson
Lukyamuzi Ronald 48
Ssemujju Henry 3
Mahuro David 6
(iii) Secretary General
Mubedhe Nicholas unopposed
(iv) Assistant secretary general
Ogwal Sam 10
Maroni Rosemary 37
(v) Secretary for finance
Nnaku Jackline 26
Nambonye Jackline 30
(vi)Secretary for Projects, Activities and Events
Eneku Ronald 45
Ssebwatu Nicholas 4

The newly voted national executive immediately held a meeting to discuss a way forward. They engaged Mr. Mahuro David, who had made some efforts in the past to form the association and had booked a name with URSB. He accepted to work hand in hand with the executive to avail the name he had booked and bring on board all the members that had backed him so that we are not divided into factions, but we are one body of ICT Teachers. Mr Kirabira Vincent (the current Publicity Secretary for central region) made a request to also work with the newly elected team in the same capacity, and the members accepted his request.  Mr. Mukalele Rogers, who has been acting as the national coordinator promised to continue working with the executive and also as a website administrator of the association. It was also agreed that all the current regional representatives become part of the committee as regional representatives.

Pioneer Interim National Executive for ICT Teachers Association of Uganda 2018/2019

Name Post / Responsibility School / Institution Contact
Kakaire Charles National Chairperson Busoga College Mwiri – Jinja 0702840404 /0776840404
Lukyamuzi Ronald National Vice Chairperson / Regional Chairperson – Central Uganda Nakanyonyi SS – Mukono 0757421818 / 0781553788
Mubedhe Nicholas National Secretary General  / Regional Vice Chairperson – Central Uganda Nakamwa SSS, Mukono


Maroni Rosemary National Assistant Secretary General Mulatsi SS Mbale / Bubulo SS Manafwa 0782083206 / 0756721786
Nambonye Jackline National Secretary for Finance Emmanuel College Kazo – Kampala 0755395320
Eneku Ronald National Secretary for Projects, Activities and Events / Regional Assistant secretary general – Central Uganda Progressive SS Kitintale – Kampala 0704205057
Mukalele Rogers National Coordinator / Web Administrator Kololo SSS, Kampala 0776960740/ 0706060740
Kirabira Vicent National Publicity  Secretary / Regional Publicity  Secretary- Central Uganda 0705660299
Tweheyo Edward Regional Chairperson – Western Uganda 0778644883
Osere Samuel Regional Vice Chairperson – Western Uganda 0784975474
Nabumpende Annet Regional Secretary General – Western Uganda
Mwijusya Alodu Regional Assistant secretary general – Western Uganda 0772575299
Muhangi Sebastian Regional Secretary for finance – Western Uganda 0783322437
Bizimaana Diaz Robert Regional Secretary for Projects, Activities and Events  – Western Uganda 0776484065
Kahwa James Regional Publicity Secretary – Western Uganda 0783975557
Ogwal Sam Regional Chairperson – Northern Uganda 0782345977
Odongo Pope Regional Vice Chairperson – Northern 0772553941/0753553941
Ogwal Moses Regional Secretary General – Northern 0772360745
Omara Morish Regional Assistant secretary general – Northern Uganda 0789954316
Lanyero Bena Regional Secretary for finance – Northern 0705784339
Sadik Sebi Regional Secretary for Projects, Activities and Events – Northern Uganda 0775046801
Wogisha Denis Regional Chairperson – Eastern Uganda 07064579050


Wagubi Ronald Regional Vice Chairperson – Eastern Uganda 0788212627
Mateka Joseph Regional Secretary General – Eastern Uganda 0775718772
Okalang David Regional Assistant secretary general – Eastern Uganda 0782660081
Biwoye Justine Regional Secretary for finance – Eastern Uganda 0755506364
Mokili John Medo Regional Secretary for Projects, Activities and Events – Eastern Uganda 0757725493
Wanja Bernard Regional Secretary General – Eastern Uganda 0772658752/0757658752
Nambone Jackline Regional Secretary for finance – Central Uganda 0755395320

Ssensalire Rajab

Regional Secretary for Projects, Activities and Events – Central Uganda  


Namubiru Joan Regional Mobiliser – Central Uganda 0700402632
Mr. Kakaire (3rd left) with some members of the national executive committee shortly after the elections.

Mr. Kakaire Charles, the new chairperson, got time to thank the members for the responsibility they had entrusted in him. Below is his message.

I am honored and humbled that you have placed your trust in me.
It has been precious indeed to meet many new people. During the two days workshop, I met not only new friends, but also members I had ever met somewhere else-it is exciting. Now holding a national office, I know I will find many new friends all over the country. The support I felt on Election Day was incredible and I owe it to you.

With your trust, I will work tirelessly with all of you to address challenges, and to secure lasting and meaningful improvements to your quality of life of Computer studies and ICT Teachers in Uganda.

Not only am I thankful for your support, but also for all the founders or initiators of this Association, notably Mr. Mukalele Rogers; you have tirelessly built a very strong foundation to ignite such a start in spite of big challenges especially financial ones.

Again, I thank you for the opportunity to serve.

May God bless you all!

Kakaire Charles
In-coming President